Creepy Libertarian Guys Are The Reason For The Lack Of Female Libertarians?

Fair warning this is going to be a relatively cynical blog post.

As of late, libertarians have been endlessly debating the reasons for the lack of women in the liberty movement. I have my own opinions, but I’ll keep them to myself.

I do, however, want to comment on one of the explanations that a number of women have put forward. That is, libertarian guys are just so darn creepy. Whenever women decide to see what libertarianism is all about they immediately get turned off by all the creepy guys.

Now don’t misunderstand me. I’m sure there are creepy guys out there, but I find it thoroughly implausible that the percentage of creepy libertarians guys is greater than that of other political ideologies. Is there something about liberty that attracts an abnormally high number of creeps? If so, I certainly don’t know what it is.

If anything my suspicions are the opposite. From where I sit, libertarian men seem to be much more interested in intellectual issues than their conservative or progressive counterparts. A typical non-libertarian goes little further than memorizing the latest Sean Hannity or Rachel Maddow talking points. A typical libertarian, on the other hand, will read dense books on economics, philosophy, epistemology etc. While I don’t have any data, I suspect there is a positive correlation between those who take interest in intellectual issues and those with a high degree of decorum when it comes to interacting with the opposite sex.

More likely the primary driver of the “creepertarian” meme is something along the lines of this:

4 thoughts on “Creepy Libertarian Guys Are The Reason For The Lack Of Female Libertarians?

  1. Yeah, I’ve had quite the opposite experience in meatspace being around libertarian men. Sure, there’s a lot of “internet tough guys” who say silly, misogynistic tripe, but I think they are a vocal minority. I’ve always had positive experiences and felt respected by male libertarians. The creepertarian meme is overblown, and while there are some awkward guys who don’t get social cues of disinterest, you see them in other political ideologies, too. And even that is another thing; “creepertarians” are usually socially awkward but harmless men whereas misogyny is a much more serious claim. The way some people talk about it, you’d think we have a rapist problem or something, but clearly we don’t.

    • I agree. There’s definitely a surplus of socially awkward men in the liberty movement and probably a libertarian women is more likely to be hit on by one.

      But given how much the meme is used I suspect much of it amounts to, “omg an unattractive, socially awkward guy offered to buy me a drink…what a creep!”

      Whereas the same thing done by an attractive guy would have elicited a different reaction.

      That isn’t to make light of women who have to deal with genuine creeps, but there’s definitely a difference that I think many miss.

      • Right. There’s a double standard because like you said most single women wouldn’t be complaining if an “attractive” guy offered to buy her a drink. And statistics are going to come in at some point because there are statistically more male then female libertarians, and that’s going to mean women will be more sought after due to their scarcity.

Leave a Reply

